Westerville News & Public Opinion


South advances five to district tournament

By ThisWeek Community News  • 

Led by freshman Marcus Williamson, the Westerville South High School wrestling team advanced five competitors to the Division I district tournament while placing sixth in an 11-squad sectional Feb. 15 at Pickerington Central.

The Wildcats (117 points) finished behind champion Teays Valley (229).

The district tournament is Friday, Feb. 21, and Saturday, Feb. 22, at Hilliard Darby. The top four finishers in each weight class will advance to state Feb. 27-March 1 at Ohio State.

Williamson (11-3 overall) pinned Teays Valley's Mason Kuffeld in 2 minutes, 30 seconds in his sectional final at 160 pounds.

Although he lost his first match of the season, senior Caleb Llaneza earned a district berth by finishing second at sectional at 152. Llaneza (37-1) lost to Central's Adam Yarger by pin (52 seconds) in the final.

Tyler Pivetz (12-9) at 113 and Zach Wachalec (23-14) at 220 also qualified for district by finishing third at sectional, and Ray Gordon (7-7) earned the other district berth by finishing fourth at 120. Pivetz and Gordon are freshmen.

North wins UA sectional

North scored 237 points to win the 11-team Upper Arlington sectional ahead of runner-up Hilliard Bradley (235.5).

The Warriors qualified 11 wrestlers for district led by Santino DiSabato (34-4) at 120, Josh Grant (19-6) at 126 and Jakob Hinz (27-7) at 170. All three won sectional titles.

In their finals, DiSabato won by technical fall over Bradley's Rob McGrath 23-8, Grant pinned Olentangy Orange's Michael Hines in 3:18 and Hinz defeated Bradley's Jake Stratton 14-9.

Advancing by finishing second for North were Don Didion (19-7) at 132, Nick Durieux (15-11) at 138, Brandon Goldsmith (26-8) at 145, Hunter Sintobin (24-8) at 152, Mason Pillow (27-9) at 160, Andy Struttmann (25-6) at 220 and Gage Archer (27-8) at heavyweight.

Nick Kramer (25-7) also advanced by finishing third at 195.

Central qualifies three for district

Central advanced three wrestlers to district while finishing ninth (65) in an 11-team sectional behind champion and host Marysville (218.5).

Advancing were John Fitzgibbon (18-21) at 132, Will Green (27-10) at 138 and Adam Lowe (19-13) at 170. Fitzgibbon finished third and Green and Lowe each finished fourth.