Whitehall News

Ward 3

Just one City Council seat will be contested in May 7 primary

Three file for seat being vacated by Knoblauch due to term limits


Only one of Whitehall's four City Council ward seats will be contested in the city's May 7 non-partisan primary.

Three candidates filed petitions to represent Ward 3.

Those three candidates are: Jerry W. Brooks, of Little Flower Lane; Larry R. Morrison, of Ross Road; and David B. Nixon, of Ross Road.

The top pair of vote-getters will advance to the general election Nov. 5 to determine the Ward 3 council representative.

Incumbent Ward 3 City Councilman Leo Knoblauch is precluded from seeking re-election because of term limits.

Two other wards, wards 1 and 2, will be uncontested in November.

Ward 1 Councilman Chris Rodriguez and Ward 2 Councilman Wes Kantor are guaranteed re-election as they will be unopposed in the general election.

One other person in each ward pulled a petition but did not meet the Feb. 6 filing deadline at the Franklin County Board of Elections.

Rodriguez has served as both a ward representative and an at-large councilman since first being elected in 2001.

Kantor was elected to council in 2009, but had been appointed to council prior to his election.

In Ward 4, Pamela Kay Sugar, of Fairway Boulevard, is challenging incumbent Ward 4 Councilman Van Gregg. The pair will not appear on the primary ballot, but rather only in the general election.

Gregg was elected to council in 2009 and is completing his first term.