Worthington News

40-year member Goorey not on City Council candidates list


Worthington City Council will experience a changing of the guard in January after Lou Goorey steps down.

Council president since John Coleman retired in the 1980s, Goorey has been on council for 40 years.

His name was not on the list of candidates who filed a nominating petition for the November election, according to the list released Aug. 7 by the Franklin County Board of Elections.

Goorey had been rumored to be considering retirement, but as recently as two weeks ago, he said he had not decided whether to seek re-election.

The other current council member who isn't on the list is Joe Davis, who's under investigation for allegedly inappropriately touching a female intern at his jewelry store. He has been on council since 2011, when he was appointed to replace Mike Duffey, who was elected to the Ohio House of Representatives.

Candidates for council are incumbents Rachael Dorothy and Scott Myers, Dave Norstrom and Rob Schmidt, both of whom were voted off two years ago, and newcomers Brian Seitz and Michael Troper.

Four positions are to be filled.

For the Worthington Board of Education, all three incumbents and a challenger filed nominating petitions.

Sam Shim, an active volunteer who regularly attends board meetings, is challenging David Bressman, Jennifer Best and Marc Schare.

Candidates for Sharon Township trustees are incumbents John Oberle and Linda Jarrett and challenger Phillip Smith.

Running for Perry Township trustee are Andrew English and James Roper.