Worthington News

Write-ins join slate of local candidates


With one candidate off the ballot because of improperly filed petitions, three more have stepped up as write-in candidates for the Sharon Township board of trustees.

Slade Hankinson, 326 Rosslyn Ave., Columbus; John Haueisen, 587 Fox Lane, Worthington; and Craig Mayton, 6851 Worthington-Galena Road, Worthington, each filed as write-in candidates by the 4 p.m. Aug. 26 deadline.

The Franklin County Board of Elections will meet Sept. 2 to determine if those filings are valid.

Incumbent Linda Jarrett's nominating petitions were ruled invalid last week by the elections board.

She was running with fellow incumbent John Oberle and challenger Phillip Smith to fill two positions on the board of trustees. Oberle and Smith will be on the ballot.

Three people also filed as write-in candidates for Riverlea Village Council. They are Renee Powell-Albert, 1591 Olentangy Blvd.; Michael Blanchard, 5803 Dover Court; and Jeff Colwell, 5814 Westchester Court.

The nominating petitions of current Council President Eric MacGilvray earlier were ruled invalid.

According to the Village Council website, four positions are to be filled in the Nov. 5 election.

Only the three write-ins will be eligible for election.