Worthington News

Area write-in candidates certified


All three people who filed as write-ins in the Sharon Township trustees race have been certified by the Franklin County Board of Elections.

Slade Hankinson, 326 Rosslyn Ave., Columbus; John Haueisen, 587 Fox Lane, Worthington; and Craig Mayton, 6851 Worthington-Galena Road, Worthington, were certified Sept. 3.

All three filed after the nominating petitions of incumbent Linda Jarrett were ruled invalid. She will not be on the November ballot. Incumbent John Oberle and challenger Phillip Smith also will run. Two positions are to be filled.

In the Riverlea Village Council race, two write-in candidates were certified Sept. 3.

Michael Blanchard, 5803 Dover Court, and Jeff Colwell, 5814 Westchester Court, are the only candidates certified.

Renee Powell-Albert, 1591 Olentangy Blvd., filed as a write-in but was included in a list of certified candidates released by the elections board.

The nominating petitions of Council President Eric MacGilvray earlier were ruled invalid.