The 2013 Worthington City Council election is the race that could have been.

The 2013 Worthington City Council election is the race that could have been.

The race is uncontested, however, with four candidates running for four open seats. That leaves no choice for voters.

The campaign started out with six candidates, but after one was disqualified and one backed out, the outcome of the race became clear.

Brian Seitz, an architect, filed nominating petitions but was ruled ineligible by the Franklin County Board of Elections because he had only 48 valid signatures, two short of the required number.

Rob Schmidt, a former council member who was defeated in the 2011 race, had planned to run but changed his mind for personal reasons.

That leaves Scott Myers, Rachael Dorothy, Dave Norstrom and Michael Troper, all of whom will be elected.

"It's not a tough decision for you this year, and I'm sorry for that," Myers said at a recent candidates forum.

Myers is seeking his second term on council. Before that, he was a member of the Municipal Planning Commission/ Architectural Review Board.

He is an attorney, working for the Ohio Attorney General's Office.

Dorothy first was elected two years ago. She is a mechanical engineer specializing in energy conservation and sustainable building design.

Norstrom is a former council member who lost his seat in the 2011 election. He is also a former member of the MPC/ARB.

Norstrom is a self-employed consultant in the energy conservation field.

Troper will be the only first-time member of council. He ran unsuccessfully for a seat two years ago.

He is the CFO of St. Stephen's Community House in Columbus.