The special election to fill the Clintonville Area Commission's vacant District 8 seat will take place Oct. 6.

The special election to fill the Clintonville Area Commission's vacant District 8 seat will take place Oct. 6.

That was the earliest possible date for which it could be set in keeping with the commission's bylaws, said election committee Chairwoman Sarah Snyder.

"This is as soon as we can call it," she said last week, following an initial meeting of the committee.

The vacancy was created when then-chairman John DeFourny resigned May 16. The bylaws leave the decision on filling a vacancy on the advisory panel -- whether by appointment or special election -- to the remaining members when more than 12 months are left in a departing representative's term.

After hearing from some District 8 residents at their July 12 meeting, commission members voted 6-1 to hold a special election. District 6 representative Jennifer Kangas cast the lone dissenting vote, citing the long delay in having District 8 represented while a special election is organized.

Following the vote, Snyder, former District 2 CAC representative, was appointed to head up the committee charged with holding the election. The others on the panel are Alyson Terrell, Nancy Stewart, Greg Denby and Brian Rinehart.

Residents of District 8 interested in succeeding DeFourny on the area commission may pick up candidate packets, including nomination forms, at the Whetstone branch of the Columbus Metropolitan Library, 3909 N. High St.

The CAC's District 8 is bounded on the south by the center line of Garden Road, on the east by the railroad tracks just east of Indianola Avenue, on the north by the south line of the State Schools for the Deaf and Blind and the center line of Georgetown Drive and its westward projection, and on the west by the center line of North High Street.

In addition to residing within those boundaries, candidates must be 18 or older.

An orientation for those considering running for the seat is set for 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 7, at the Whetstone Community Center, 3923 N. High St.

Ballots will be cast on the official election day, Oct. 6, from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the Whetstone library. Counting will begin at 2:15 p.m., according to an announcement from Snyder, with unofficial results announced as soon as the process is complete.

"The best way for a resident to vote in the election is to cast their ballot, in person, on Oct. 6," Snyder wrote.

Residents not available to vote on election day may consider voting in advance, in person, from 5:30 to 8:30 p.m. Oct. 2, she said.

Those opting for early in-person voting must be prepared to prove they are 18 or older and live within District 8, Snyder said. She said proper photo identification will be reviewed by election committee members before a ballot is issued.

"Voters without proper identification may sign a residency statement to receive a ballot," the committee chairwoman added.

For people unable to be on hand for either in-person voting opportunity, election committee members are offering a mail-in ballot option. These are not anonymous and are subject to post-election challenge, Snyder said.

A written request, accompanied by a self-addressed, stamped envelope, is required for mail-in ballots. Committee members will convene Sept. 18 to respond to these requests, all of which must have been received by that time, Snyder said. Forms will not be processed if the addresses on them don't correspond with those on the envelopes.

"All voters choosing the mail-in balloting method will be asked to complete and return a residency statement with their ballot," the committee announcement stated. "The residency statement will be provided to the voter with the ballot."

Questions regarding the special election may be addressed to Snyder in care of the library; via email to sarah@; or by phone at 614-288-4957.