The Gahanna-Jefferson Board of Education will change by at least one member in 2012.

The Gahanna-Jefferson Board of Education will change by at least one member in 2012.

Board president Charley Wise is calling it quits at the end of his term.

"I don't intend to seek re-election," Wise told ThisWeek. "I've really thoroughly enjoyed working on school board and working for the community. My first priority is being a husband and dad, and that has at times taken a back seat the last four years. I want to spend more time with them and my job."

The terms of Wise and Windy McKenna expire Dec. 31.

Wise is employed by Key Bank, where he works with government agencies.

He wasn't prepared for the amount of time it takes to be a member of the school board, he said.

"I think it requires more time than people realize," he said. "It has really been rewarding."

Wise, a 1997 Gahanna graduate, said he would stay involved in the district as the parent of a first-grader and future kindergartner.

"I'll be involved at the PTO level and at their school goings-on," he said. "For a kid who grew up here and now I'm sending my kids here, I truly love the community. I also met my wife (Mindy) in high school, and we do love it here."

McKenna, who's in her fourth four-year term, has taken out a petition to seek re-election.

The board veteran is a former adult-education teacher for Columbus City Schools and the mother of six district graduates.

As of ThisWeek's press time July 26, other potential candidates who have taken out petitions for school board are Heather Bishoff, 2902 Braden Way, Blacklick; Richard Duff, 312 Dunbarton Road; Kenneth Granville, 905 Caroway Blvd.; Jason Phillips, 967 Vista Drive; and Mark Shaffer, 699 Whirlaway Court.

No petitions for school board had been filed with the board of elections as of July 26.

Gahanna school board members receive $125 per meeting, with a cap of $3,000 for 24 meetings annually.

To run for school board, candidates must file a petition with the Franklin County Board of Elections by 4 p.m. Aug. 10.