Pending certification, Gahanna voters should have another candidate to consider when they go the polls Nov. 8.

Pending certification, Gahanna voters should have another candidate to consider when they go the polls Nov. 8.

Bryn-Mawr Drive resident John Stewart met the Aug. 29 deadline to run as a write-in candidate for city council's Ward 4. If Stewart's candidacy is certified, he will challenge incumbent Beryl Anderson, but his name won't appear on the ballot.

Stewart is an executive for TRANSinternational System, a transportation company with terminals in six states.

Ironically, his decision to run, he said, was based on the fact that Anderson's candidacy initially was rejected.

"I think it's important for people to run for office and not be appointed," he said.

Anderson's candidacy was in question for less than a day last week, when the Franklin County Board of Elections mistakenly reported that she had fallen short of the necessary 50 valid signatures she needed.

That finding later was rescinded, with her petitions meeting the necessary requirements, said Ben Piscitelli, elections board spokesman.

Anderson ran unopposed in November 2007 and first took office in 2008. She also ran unopposed in 2009.

Piscitelli said the board of elections would review write-in candidates' petitions on Sept. 6 for certification.

Gahanna's Ward 3 would be the only uncontested race, pending Stewart's petition certification for Ward 4. Incumbent candidate Brian Larick is the lone candidate for Ward 3. He was appointed April 12, 2010, to fill the unexpired term of Tom Evers, who had moved out of state.

All four ward council seats and three at-large seats are up for grabs in November.

At-large candidates include Karen Angelou, Ryan Jolley, Ray Kautz and incumbent David Samuel. Ward 1 candidates are Mark Foster and Stephen Renner. Ward 2 candidates are Joseph Gergley, Michael Schnetzer and Brandon Wright.

Council members John McAlister, Shane Ewald, Nancy McGregor and Tim Pack aren't seeking re-election.

Gahanna voters will select a new city attorney: Paul Leihart II or Shane Ewald. After 31 years as city attorney, Tom Weber decided not to seek re-election.

Voters also will see a mayor's race between incumbent Becky Stinchcomb and Jim McGregor.

Two seats on the Gahanna-Jefferson school board also expire at the end of this year. Candidates are incumbent Windy McKenna, Heather Bishoff, Ken Granville, Jason Phillips and Mark Shaffer.