Volunteers are sorting through a flood of applications for the principal position at Grandview Heights High School.

Volunteers are sorting through a flood of applications for the principal position at Grandview Heights High School.

A total of 77 applications were received for the position, which was advertised through April 22.

Community residents and staff members are helping the administration conduct an initial paper sort this week, Superintendent Ed O'Reilly said.

After the initial screening, he said, he will look through recommendations from the volunteers and bring in a selection for a one-on-one interview.

"I'll compile all those lists and look for names that are recurring," O'Reilly said.

An even smaller group of candidates will advance beyond the interview with O'Reilly and will meet with a committee that includes board members, teachers and parent on Monday, May 9, or Thursday, May 12.

He said his goal is to have a recommendation for the school board by mid May.

Applicants for the position are:

John Abdella, who was principal at Eastern Local Schools until July 31, 2010. Anthony Ashbrook, an English teacher at Westerville South High School and Westerville's summer school principal. Leslie B. Bamford, lead teacher at Dublin City Schools' West Bridge Academy. Pete Bartkowiak, director and principal London Academy in London, Ohio. Larry Black, principal at E.L. Bowsher High School, Toledo Public Schools. Michael Broadwater, assistant principal at North Royalton High School for North Royalton City Schools. Todd Burger, a teacher at The Graham School, a Columbus charter school. Kamal Chatman, director of internships/work based learning for Cleveland Job Corps. Edward Chavez Sr., a part-time master trainer at a child care resource center. Matthew W. Chrispin, principal of Marysville High School. Curtis M. Clough, academic chair at Mohave Community College in Kingman, Ariz. Thomas R. Cochran, assistant principal at Upper Arlington High School. Benjamin R. Coleman III, co-program coordinator for the Chesapeake Union Exempted School District's after-school program. Randall J. Cotner, a consultant with LW & Associates in Asheville, Ohio. Scott A. Cunningham, principal of Norton Middle School in South-Western City Schools. Timothy L. Dailey, physical education teacher for Union Scioto Schools. Michael F. DeMassimo, assistant principal at Graham High School in St. Paris, Ohio. Denise A. Dilsaver, principal of South Central Local in Greenwich, Ohio. Teresa Disbennet, activities administrator for Vinton County High School, Vinton County Local Schools. Nikola Drobac, a substitute bus driver for the Plum Borough School District in Pennsylvania. Michael B. Edwards, principal for East Clinton Local Schools. Nick Elam, a math teacher at Northridge High School in Johnstown. Michele D. Evans, superintendent of Canton City Schools. Cheryl A. Farnbaugh, principal of Northwestern Middle School in Springfield, Ohio. Denver J. Fowler, a physical education teacher at Licking Heights Central Middle School. Thomas Gladieux, principal of Meadows Choice Community Elementary School for the Lucas County Educational Service Center in Toledo. John B. Griffith, former vice principal at Fenwick High School in Middletown, Ohio. Dustin A. Grime, dean of students and assistant athletic director at Granville Middle School. Elizabeth A. Wilcox Hawkins, curriculum and educational technology administrator for the Buckeye United School District. Josh Hayes, assistant principal at Keystone Middle School in Lagrange, Ohio. Laura Hebert, assistant principal at Monacan High School in Richmond, Va.. Michael A. Herzog, a science teacher at Briggs High School in Columbus. Wayne Hinkle, principal of the middle-senior high school for Cardington-Lincoln Schools. Matthew Hreha, assistant principal at Logan Elm High School. Amanda Ike, a science teacher in the Granville Exempted Village Schools. Jodi Johns Deshler, an English teacher at the Apollo Career Center, Lima, Ohio. James Jones, assistant director of educational technology for The Electronic Classroom of Tomorrow. Jeffrey E. Jones, a music teacher at Arts IMPACT Middle School in Columbus. Monroe Kennedy, Jr., principal of the schools of medicine, science, technology for the East Cleveland City School District. Julie Ann King, assistant principal at Thomas Worthington High School. Kirk Koennecke, principal of Springfield High School. Ruth M. Kotler, director of curriculum and instruction at Achieve Career Preparatory Academy in Toledo. Christopher D. Laslo, an intervention specialist at Madison-Plains High School. Sean A. Leavy, assistant principal at Columbus City Schools' South High School. Charles S. Leedle, principal of Millersport High School. Tom Lehman, principal of Westfall High School. Janet M. Love, a graduation coach at Linden McKinley STEM in Columbus. Sharon Lucas, vocational business and technology teacher in the Bellevue Independent School District in Kentucky. M. Denise Lutz, an assistant principal at Reynoldsburg High School. Eileen McMahon, an English teacher at Bexley High School. Tony Meinerding,superintendent of Holgate Local Schools in Holgate, Ohio. John W. Morgan, assistant principal for curriculum and instruction South-Western City Schools' Central Crossing High School. Randy L. Nielsen, a teacher at Groveport Community School, a charter school. Pamela G. Noeth, assistant director of curriculum for Delaware City Schools. Brian Orrenmaa, principal of Fouse Elementary School in the Westerville City School District. Kasey Rathburn, principal of Baldwin Road Junior High School in Reynoldsburg. Jennifer L. Rhone, principal of the Joseph M. Gallagher School in the Cleveland Metropolitan School District. Robert Beauregard Rickey, work-study coordinator for the Middletown City School District. Carrie B. Ries, assistant principal at Olentangy Liberty High School. Todd H. Riggs, assistant principal at Brecksvile-Broadview Heights High School. Gary E. Robinson, director of the Pike County Career Technology Center in Piketon, Ohio Mary Rosser, a teacher at Galloway Ridge Intermediate in Galloway. Shannon Dawn Sayre, assistant principal of Hilliard Bradley High School. John C. Siggins, a physical education teacher at Horizon Science Academy in Columbus. Troy A. Slatman, assistant principal and athletic director of Licking Heights High School. Tracey R. Smith, director of curriculum and school improvement for the Greene County Educational Service Center. John B. Stoner, assistant principal in the Mad River Local school district. Richard C. Stotts Jr., assistant principal of student services at Marion Harding High School, in Marion City Schools. Pauline D. Swan, assistant principal at London High School. Paul B. Thompson, principal of National Road Elementary School in Zanesville. Kari Toops, a math coach at Monticello Elementary in Huber Heights, Ohio. Gary L. Van Bibber Jr., an intervention specialist at the Circleville Juvenile Correctional Facility. Molly N. Walker, an assistant principal at Olentangy Liberty High School. Ron Widman, principal of Dohron Wilson Elementary in Mechanicsburg Exempted Village Schools. G. Jacob Wiese, assistant principal of Tri-County Middle-Senior High School in West Lafayette, Ind. Michael A. Yonnotti, an administrator for Hamilton Local Schools.