Hilliard voters will decide only one contested local race on the Nov. 5 ballot.

Hilliard voters will decide only one contested local race on the Nov. 5 ballot.

Brown Township residents also will vote on a fire levy.

There are no liquor options in Hilliard or the Columbus portion of the school district.

For live elections results Tuesday, Nov. 5, go to ThisWeekNEWS.com/Elections.

School board race

The only contested local campaign is a four-way race for three Hilliard school board seats.

Brian Perry, 20, a 2011 graduate of Hilliard Darby High School and Capital University student, is challenging incumbent school board members Paul Lambert, Andy Teater and Lisa Whiting.

Lambert, 59, will complete his first term on the board at the end of the year.

Teater, 51, is the board president and will complete his second four-year term at the end of the year.

Whiting, 51, is the board vice president. She was appointed to the board in 2007 and elected to her first full term in 2009.

Fire levy

Brown Township voters will decide a 4.66-mill fire levy to create an identical effective millage rate for Brown and Norwich township residents, said Greg Ruwe, township fiscal officer.

Hilliard and Norwich Township voters approved a 4.12-mill fire levy in May, the first since 1998.

Norwich Township provides fire suppression and emergency-medical services to Brown Township's approximately 650 households.

The Brown Township levy would generate an additional $142.71 annually per $100,000 of assessed property value.

The levy would become effective Jan. 1, 2014, and collected for the 2013 tax year.

Uncontested races

The four Hilliard City Council candidates unopposed on the Nov. 5 ballot were decided in the city's May 7 Republican primary election.

They are Tom Baker, Les Carrier, Kelly McGivern and Bill Uttley.

McGivern is the only elected incumbent.

Baker was appointed to City Council in February and Uttley is chairman of the Hilliard Planning and Zoning Commission and a former City Council member.

Carrier has no prior experience as an elected official.

Five candidates were on the ballot in the Republican primary race, but no Democrats filed for the primary and no independents or write-ins filed by their respective deadlines.

In Norwich Township, trustees Chuck Buck and Larry Earman are unopposed.

Brown Township trustees Gary Dever and Joseph Martin likewise are unopposed.