Grassroots campaigns are under way to help determine the future of Mike Carter with the Johnstown-Monroe Local School District.

Several sources have said that the school board doesn't plan to renew Carter's positions as dean of students, athletics director and football coach at the high school. Sources added that the official board vote is expected at a future meeting. The board next meets Jan. 10.

Superintendent Damien Bawn would not comment because the board has not taken any action.

In an e-mail message, Bawn said: "No job action has been taken. At all times, internal personnel issues and related discussions are considered confidential until such time as the board may act."

Carter declined to comment.

Meanwhile, Johnstown resident Patti Norris has contacted several people to form a "Save Coach Carter" campaign.

"We have nothing officially set up, but we want to get something in the works as soon as we can," said Norris, a 1980 Johnstown graduate whose daughter Brandy Norris graduated in 1999, son Colton Rosshirt graduated in 2009 and son Joey Norris is an eighth-grader. "I went to and have been around Johnstown schools since I was 12, and I want to make sure we do something to help out coach Carter for all he has done."

Also, a group page on Facebook was started last Tuesday and titled, "Save Coach Carter: One Team, One Heartbeat." As of last Wednesday, the group had more than 725 members.

"If they want to go in a new direction, what direction would that be?" said Bruce Beacom, a concerned resident whose sons Will and Zach graduated from the school in 2008 and 2009, respectively.

"But the reason that I'm interested is only partly about football. Coach Carter believes that football is an

instrument to build character andwork ethic in young mean. That has always been more important to him than football."

Carter has a 65-31 record in nine seasons at Johnstown. Only Tim Kidwell has more wins, going 72-67 in 14 seasons.

Carter led the program to its first playoff berth in 2002. His teams also reached the postseason from 2006-08.