The Newark Board of Education has narrowed its list of 29 superintendent candidates and will interview six of them.

The Newark Board of Education has narrowed its list of 29 superintendent candidates and will interview six of them.

The board met in executive session Wednesday night and reviewed each applicant's qualifications before determining which might be the best fit for the district, board president Molly Ingold said.

First-round interviews will be held June 30 and July 1.

Kathy LaSota, a consultant working with the Ohio School Boards Association, said the district would hold second-round interviews if needed July 9 and final rounds July 14.

LaSota said she could not release the names Wednesday because she first had to contact the six candidates to see if they still are interested in the position.

Heath City Schools assistant superintendent James Forgrave and North Fork elementary principal Sharon R. Greene were among the 29 candidates.

The applicants also include Romy S. Adams, Lorain City Schools middle school principal; Diane M. Blose-Ivory, curriculum coordinator for Butler County Educational Service Center; Frederick V. Boring, Bellefontaine High School principal; Jonathan D. Brown, associate superintendent for Baltimore County, Md.; Michael J. Bruning, Canal Wincester Local elementary principal; Dale L. Dickson, superintendent at the Perry-Hocking Educational Service Center; James C. Grube, South-Western City Schools personnel director; Mark W. Hartman, superintendent of Antwerp Local; James J. Herrholtz, superintendent of Richmond Heights Local; Richard L. Hull, Fairless Local curriculum director; James A. Kemp, superintendent of Western County in Kentucky; Patricia A. Lucas, Fairbanks Local Middle School principal; Dean D. Lynch, East Clinton Local intervention specialist; Deborah A. Piotrowski, Millcreek-West Unity Local superintendent; Steve C. Price, Middletown City superintendent; Rick D. Rolston, Upper Scioto Valley Local superintendent; Tony D. Scott, former administrator for Marlington Local; Jerry P. Skiver, former administrator for New Boston Local; Stacia A. Smith, Clark County Educational Service Center superintendent; Michael B. Staggs, New Boston Local superintendent; Arthur W. Stellar, Taunton schools superintendent in Massachusetts; Stephen A. Stohla, Brookfield Local superintendent; Daniel L. Tyree, Plymouth Community School superintendent in Indiana; Douglas C. Ute, Elgin Local superintendent; Pamela M. VanHorn, Worthington Middle School principal; David E. Watson, headmaster of Howe Military Academy in Napoleon Area City; and Vicki A. Wheatley, Wickliffe City high school principal.

Superintendent Keith Richards announced his retirement in May. His retirement is effective Aug. 1.