Eight New Albany residents will run for office this year, according to the Franklin County Board of Elections.

Eight New Albany residents will run for office this year, according to the Franklin County Board of Elections.

Republican Clarence Mingo will run for re-election as Franklin County auditor in November.

He will be challenged by Democrat Terry Brown and Libertarian Michael Blose, both of Columbus.

Republican Kim Browne, is running for re-election to the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas against Democrat and Columbus resident Jamie Campbell.

David Myhal is running for Republican State Central and Executive Committee for the 3rd Ohio Senate District against fellow New Albany resident David Payne, who currently holds the seat.

Other candidates for the seat running in the May 4 primary are Westerville resident Phillip Harmon, Columbus resident William Todd and Bexley resident Matthew Damschroder.

According to Damschroder, who also serves as the deputy director of the Franklin County Board of Elections, the state central committees are made up of one male and one female for each of the state Senate districts.

"Those elected individuals serve as the board of directors of the state political parties," he said.

New Albany Republican Benjamin Snedeker plans to run for the 19th Ohio House District. He will face Westerville resident Anne Gonzales in the May 4 primary. Democrat incumbent Marian Harris of Columbus and Libertarian Michael Johnston of Westerville will run against the winner in November.

Snedeker, a teacher at Northridge High School in Johnstown, said he is running because he wants to improve access to health care in Ohio and wants to change unfunded mandates.

"Now is not the time for established politicians," he said. "Now is the time for the average guy to step up and go into the government and fix things the established politicians haven't."

New Albany resident and incumbent Nancy Garland plans to run for re-election to her seat in the 20th Ohio House District.

She will be challenged in November by fellow New Albany resident Matthew Carle, a Republican, and Libertarian Lawrence Binsky of Bexley.

New Albany Libertarian William Yarbrough plans to run for the 3rd Ohio Senate District in November against Republican Kevin Bacon of Minerva Park and the winner of a primary race that includes Democrats Jim Wiley of Obetz, Starshemah Johnson of Canal Winchester, Beverly Campbell and Cortez Lee Bogard of Gahanna, Benjamin Kessler of Bexley and Roxyanne Burrus of Reynoldsburg.