Nate Hillerich, who guided Hamilton Township to an 8-2 record in his first season, was named Division II Co-coach of the Year on the all-Ohio team by the Associated Press yesterday.

A former Hamilton Township assistant, Hillerich shared the honor with Andre Parker of Cincinnati Winton Woods, Mike Franklin of Sandusky and Doug Frye of Wapakoneta.

Coincidentally, Hillerich's predecessor, Bob Jacoby, was honored in Division I for guiding Hamilton - near Cincinnati - to the playoffs in his first season. Jacoby, who spent 19 seasons at DeSales before his three-year stint at Hamilton Township, shared his honor with Rick Finotti of Lakewood St. Edward.

Both Hamilton Township (0-10) and Hamilton (2-8) rebounded from poor 2009 seasons.

Six area players earned first-team all-Ohio in Division I: running back Jayshon Jackson and offensive lineman Ray Ball of Westerville South, receiver Jake Green of Grove City, defensive end Keith Heitzman and kicker JD Detmer of Hilliard Davidson and defensive back Eilar Hardy of Pickerington Central.

Ohio State-bound quarterback Braxton Miller of Huber Heights Wayne was named Division I Offensive Player of the Year. Linebacker Trey DePriest of Springfield was chosen Defensive Player of the Year.

In Division II, five area players were honored on the first team: tight end Austin Traylor of Walnut Ridge, lineman Vinny Cordova and running back Alex Hake of New Albany, and linebacker Julian Blakey and defensive back Devante Strickland of Marion-Franklin.

Running back Aaron Kemper of Cincinnati Winton Woods was selected Offensive Player of the Year.

Sharing the defensive honor were Joel Heath of Cincinnati Mount Healthy, Chase Hounshell of Mentor Lake Catholic and Kevin Williams of Holland Springfield.

The selections were made based on recommendations from a state media panel.