The University of Dayton will open a satellite campus on Eastwind Drive in January.

Thomas Lasley II, dean of UD's School of Education and Allied Professions, said courses will be offered for upper-level managers in education such as principals and superintendents. The satellite campus also will offer graduate licensure and courses leading to degrees in educational leadership and school and community counseling, according to information provided by UD. Many of the courses were previously offered at the university's Educational Service Center in Columbus.

"We've been at Capital University for a number of years, and we're not moving out of there, we're just moving part of our operation," said Dan Raisch, associate dean of UD's school of education. "Capital needs the facility we've been using. The Westerville location gives us a bit more space and this is a little more strategic, as most of the students (at our satellite campus) have been coming out of that north circle of the outerbelt."

The Eastwind Drive location will house four full-time faculty members and up to nine researchers.

It will also include the School Study Council of Ohio, organized by central Ohio school administrators in 1965 to assist schools with organizational change, professional development, accessing funding and other services.

Raisch said that as of now, five classes have been scheduled for the spring term to begin in January. A few classes will be held in the summer, and four to six classes are planned in the fall, he said.

Lasley said he expects between 60 and 100 students to enroll for the upcoming semester at the Westerville location.

"We don't see this as a permanent physical facility for our programs and researchers, but we do see it as an appropriate location to extend the reach of our efforts and tap student populations in the northern part of Franklin County," Lasley said.

Raisch said those interested in learning more about the University of Dayton's application process for the Westerville satellite classes should call the school's education administration office at (937) 229-3737.

The University of Dayton operates other satellite campuses in Ohio, with locations at Southern State Community College in Hillsboro, Clark State University in Springfield, Sinclair Community College Courseview Campus in Mason and the Apollo Career Center in Lima.