Westerville Republican John Kasich filed his paperwork Feb. 18 with the Ohio Secretary of State's Office to compete in this year's race for Ohio's top seat.

Westerville Republican John Kasich filed his paperwork Feb. 18 with the Ohio Secretary of State's Office to compete in this year's race for Ohio's top seat.

Kasich, with current Ohio Auditor Mary Taylor as his running mate, will face off in November against Democratic Gov. Ted Strickland and running mate Yvette McGee Brown, Green Party candidate Dennis S. Spisak and running mate Anita Rios, and Libertarian Ken Matesz and running mate Ann Leech.

Kasich announced he would run for Ohio governor in front of the Everal Barn at Heritage Park in Westerville June 1.

Kasich served in Congress for 18 years until 2001. Before launching his gubernatorial campaign last year, he resigned from Fox News, where he had been an on-air personality since January 2001.

He has recently worked as a business strategy consultant for Columbus-based Schottenstein Stores Corp and previously spent six years as managing director of Lehman Brothers' investment banking division before the company's collapse last year.

Candidates also filed petitions Feb. 18 for the 12th U.S. Congressional District, Ohio's 3rd Senate District, and Ohio House districts 2, 19, 20 and 21.

Boards of election were scheduled to certify the validity of petitions and whether they include enough signatures, on Feb. 25, after ThisWeek's press time.

Candidates for the 12th Congressional District include Democrat Paula Brooks, a resident of northwest Columbus and current Franklin County commissioner; Libertarians Travis Irvine, of Bexley, and Eddie Florek, of Columbus' Northland neighborhood; incumbent Republican Pat Tiberi, of Genoa Township; and Republican Andrew G. Zukowski, of Whitehall.

Seven Democrats hope to run in the May 4 primary for the right to compete against incumbent Republican Kevin Bacon, of Minerva Park, and Libertarian William Yarbrough, of New Albany, for Ohio's 3rd Senate district. Democrats vying for the seat include Obetz resident James B. Wiley, Canal Winchester resident Starshemah M. Johnson, Gahanna residents Democrat Beverly T. Campbell and Cortez Lee Bogard, Bexley resident Benjamin J. Kessler, and Reynoldsburg residents Roxyanne C. Burrus and Mark Pfeifer.

In Ohio's 2nd House District, Richard Bird is the sole Democrat who filed petitions to appear on the primary ballot. Andrew Brenner, of Powell; Beth Lear, of Galena; Mark E. Phillips, of Westerville; Traci L. Saliba, of Powell and Craig Schweitzer, of Powell filed petitions to compete in the May 4 Republican primary.

In Ohio's 19th House district, incumbent Democrat Marian Harris, of Columbus will look to hold her seat against Libertarian Michael K. Johnston, of Westerville and the winner of the May 4 Republican primary: Westerville City Councilwoman Anne Gonzales or Benjamin Snedeker, of New Albany.

In the 20th Ohio House district, incumbent Democrat Nancy Garland, of New Albany, will face Libertarian Lawrence A. Binsky, of Bexley, and Republican Matthew J. Carle, of New Albany.

Democrat David W. Robinson and Republican Michael P. Duffey, both Worthington residents, filed nominating petitions to appear on the May ballot seeking the 21st Ohio House district seat.