Westerville residents once again will cast their ballots for or against a Westerville school levy in the March 6 election.

Westerville residents once again will cast their ballots for or against a Westerville school levy in the March 6 election.

The district is asking residents to approve a five-year, 6.71-mill emergency levy. If approved, it would cost residents $205.49 each year for each $100,000 of property value. The levy would raise $16.54 million annually for the district.

The levy, on the ballot as Issue 10, follows the defeat of a November levy request that left Westerville City Schools with a $23-million deficit in the 2012-2013 budget.

Without the passage of the March 6 levy, district officials have said more than 200 employees would be terminated as part of cutting extracurricular activities, art and music programs, transportation and special programs, such as the magnet school program.

Even without the levy, the district will trim next year's budget.

Statewide, voters will cast ballots in the Republican presidential primary, with Newt Gingrich, Jon Huntsman, Ron Paul, Rick Perry, Mitt Romney and Rick Santorum appearing on the Ohio ballot.

The Republican primary for U.S. Senate has six candidates vying to challenge incumbent Democrat Sherrod Brown: David W. Dodt, Donna K. Gilsman, Eric LaMont Gregory, Josh Mandel, Michael L. Pryce and write-in candidate Russell P. Bliss Jr.

Two Green Party write-in candidates also are competing in the Senate primary: Joseph Rosario DeMare and Anita Rios.

In the Republican primary for the 12th U.S. Congressional District, incumbent Pat Tiberi, of Genoa Township, is being challenged by New Albany resident Bill Yarbrough.

In the Democratic primary for the seat, Mansfield resident Doug Litt and Gahanna resident Jim Reese will compete.

Incumbent Anne Gonzales (R-Westerville) is unchallenged in the Republican primary for the 19th Ohio House District seat, as is Democrat Al Donahey, a New Albany resident.

In Delaware County, Utica resident Jeff Furr, Centerburg resident Jason Rogers and Mount Vernon resident Margaret Ann Ruhl are competing to be the Republican candidate for the 68th Ohio House District seat, and Gambier resident John T. Ryerson and Utica resident Bradley Duane Schaaf are competing to be the Democratic candidate.

While most Franklin County primary races are uncontested, Republicans in Delaware County are competing in two races for county commissioner.

In one race, Delaware residents Al Myers and Ken O'Brien are running for the chance to face Westerville Democrat Richard Bird, a write-in candidate, in November. In the other, Delaware residents Joe Garrett, Gary Merrell and Tommy W. Thompson are running for a chance to face Democrat John K. Hartman, of Powell, in November.

Members of the Democratic, Republican, Green and Libertarian parties also will vote on their central committee members and chairmen.