Two residents so far have indicated interest in Whitehall City Council's Ward 2 seat.

Three residents so far have indicated interest in Whitehall City Council's Ward 2 seat.

Current Ward 2 Councilman Wes Kantor was elected to an at-large seat in November and will resign from his Ward 2 seat Dec. 31.

The term expires Dec. 31, 2017.

Linda Berridge, Octavian "Tavi" T. Netotian and Chris Bolich sent letters expressing interest in the appointment to Council Clerk Carol Churchman.

Berridge was unsuccessful in a 2007 mayoral primary and circulated but did not file a petition for mayor in 2011.

Churchman will accept letters of interest from Ward 2 residents until 5 p.m. Monday, Dec. 7, at Whitehall City Hall, 360 S. Yearling Road.

Ward 2 is roughly bounded by East Broad Street to the north, South Yearling Road to the east, Robinwood Avenue and Beechwood Road to the west, and East Main Street to the south.

Interviews of candidates tentatively are scheduled to begin at 6 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 9, at City Hall.

A selection will be made in January.

Citing an opinion from City Attorney Mike Shannon, officials said at the Nov. 24 meeting of council committees that, unlike prior instances when seated council members were elected to other offices, a successor would not be appointed before Jan. 1.

"If we've been doing it wrong for so long, then why are we doing it right now?" said Councilwoman Leslie LaCorte, whose term expires Dec. 31.

"We did do it otherwise before, but we found out that was incorrect," Council President Jim Graham said.

LaCorte was unsuccessful in unseating incumbent Mayor Kim Maggard this fall and will not have a vote in the selection of Kantor's successor.