Twenty-one Hilliard administrators and educators will be honored next week as Educators of Excellence, and one will be named Educator of the Year.

They will be recognized at a ceremony from 4 to 6 p.m. Wednesday, April 26, at the media center at Hilliard Davidson High School, 5100 Davidson Road.

Each year, the Hilliard Alumni Association and the Hilliard Education Foundation solicit nominations for Educator of Excellence from each of the district's 24 school buildings.

Committee members select an Educator of Excellence from each school if there are multiple nominees and choose one Educator of the Year from among the Educators of Excellence, said Tom Calhoon, a 1966 graduate of Hilliard High School and president of the Hilliard Alumni Association.

Nominations are not always received from every school, Calhoon said.

"The alumni association feels it is important to recognize our outstanding faculty," he said.

"There are some really remarkable stories we hear every year about the extra efforts of these teachers (and administrators)."

The 2017 Educators of Excellence, listed in ascending order by building, are:

* Annette Andres, principal at the Hilliard City School District Preschool

* Meredith Kleman, a second-grade teacher at Alton Darby Elementary School

* Anne Kuney, a first-grade teacher at Avery Elementary School

* Megan Anthony, a multi-classroom teacher at Beacon Elementary School

* Molly Hart, an intervention specialist at Britton Elementary School

* Carrie Higginbotham, an instructional coach at Hilliard Crossing Elementary School

* Jennifer Allen, an intervention specialist at Darby Creek Elementary School

* Laura Caito, a first-grade teacher at Hoffman Trails Elementary School

* Beth Watts, a guidance counselor at Horizon Elementary School

* Shannon Holmes, an intervention specialist at J.W. Reason Elementary School

* Cynda Morelli, a speech therapist at Norwich Elementary School

* Caitlin Beck, a third-grade teacher at Ridgewood Elementary School

* Kathryn Ehle, a fourth-grade teacher at Scioto Darby Elementary School

* Dara Chamberlain, a second-grade teacher at Washington Elementary School

* Dana Schultz, a media specialist at Tharp Sixth Grade School

* Kathleen Litt, a pre-algebra teacher at Heritage Middle School

* Terry Lord, a media specialist at Memorial Middle School

* Rob Daniels, a math teacher at Weaver Middle School

* Kelli Aquila, a ceramics and art teacher at Bradley High School

* Richard Chute, a math teacher at Darby High School

* Nicholas Van Dyne, an intervention specialist at Davidson High School

Through multiple sponsorships, the teachers receive money that is used for classroom materials or programming, Calhoon said.