For two decades, our Community Awards program has been celebrating the people, civic groups and programs that help make Upper Arlington what it is.

You would think that after so many years, we might run low on worthy candidates, but the richness of UA's community spirit runs deep and we always receive a number of new and worthy nominations.

As is usual at this time of year, I am once again asking for your help identifying the individuals and groups who stood out for their good deeds in 2017. Our popular awards program will once again include the following categories:

* Business of the Year: recognizes an Upper Arlington business that is actively involved in the community through support and participation in community service projects, providing financial or in-kind support for various causes or events, or bringing other benefits to the community.

* Community Enrichment: presented to an individual or group that has spearheaded or is involved in a project or program that enhances the city's quality of life through the arts, education, recreation, cultural diversity or enhancement of the natural environment.

* Community Safety: celebrates an individual or group involved in programming to raise awareness of or improve the overall health and safety of members of the community, or for a significant one-time act to help others in the community during a moment of need.

* Super Senior: awarded to an individual who is actively involved in his/her community through volunteer service, taking a leadership or participatory role in community programs.

* Youth Award: presented to an individual youth or a group actively involved in volunteer service, or the participation in and development of community programs to benefit others.

The deadline for submitting nominations is Jan. 5. The 2017 Community Award recipients will be announced at the 2018 State of the City Address, scheduled for Jan. 22.

Visit for additional details.

Wall of Honor

Continuing the nomination theme, now is also the time to think about possible additions to the wall of bronze plaques at the MSC that commemorate deceased UA residents whose professional, philanthropic, volunteer or public service had a significant impact on Upper Arlington and the greater community.

Past honorees have included Wendy's founder Dave Thomas, former Ohio Gov. James A. Rhodes, King G. Thompson and Benjamin S. Thompson, who founded Upper Arlington, OSU football coach Wayne Woodrow (Woody) Hayes, Dr. Arthur G. James, who founded the OSU Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Research Institute, women's rights activist Mary Egerton Miller and cancer activists and community volunteers Stefanie Spielman and Cindy Dyas.

Nominations for the 2018 Wall of Honor -- a joint program of the UA Historical Society and city of Upper Arlington -- will be accepted through Jan. 12.

The 2018 recipient will be announced in February and recognized at a special ceremony on May 20.

For more information, visit and look for the link under the Headlines section of our homepage.

Theodore J. Staton is Upper Arlington's city manager. This column is provided to ThisWeek Upper Arlington News by his office.