The annual Grove City Homecoming Celebration held July 27-29 included two recognitions on the opening night.

The evening of July 27 began with the unveiling of a plaque at City Hall, 4035 Broadway, honoring the late Sherol Saxton Mulligan as the 2018 Service Above Self Award recipient.

Mulligan died Oct. 31, 2016.

"This is such a great honor for our family to have Sherol recognized like this," said Mulligan's sister, Trudy Salyers.

"It was such a shock when she passed away," Salyers said. "Having this plaque in place to honor and list her contributions to Grove City is so meaningful for the family.

"It's especially important for the younger members of our family to know how much Sherol served this community, which she loved," she said.

Mulligan was prominent in the real-estate business. A Gold Star daughter, she served on the USO of Ohio Board of Directors and 15 years on the South-Western City School District school board, including time as its president. She also was president of the Grove City Area Chamber of Commerce and Grove City Visitors and Convention Bureau.

"It almost seems like she was president of everything at one time or another," Salyers said. "I had to write her obituary and even I was surprised at how many ways she found to serve the community."

Grove City Mayor Richard "Ike" Stage said Mulligan was a worthy choice as the second recipient of the Service Above Self Award.

The award, supported by the Grove City Rotary Club, is designed to recognized community members who go above and beyond in serving Grove City.

"I've known Sherol since she was in high school," Stage said. "She's the epitome of what Grove City is all about -- growing up here and becoming such a respected and important part of our community. She gave back to our city in so many ways."

Later in the evening, the Grove City High School class of 2004 softball team was announced as this year's inductees into the Alumni Tournament Hall of Fame.

The 2004 team has had continued success in the annual softball tournament, winning the Men's A division in 2017, 2016, 2015, 2012, 2010, 2009 and 2007.

The team finished in second place in 2014, 2013 and 2011 and in third place in 2008. It finished in fourth place in this year's tournament.

Ninety teams participated this year in six divisions.

The winning teams and most valuable-player honorees in each division were:

* Men's A: 2007, Tyler Gleason

* Women's: 2007, Heather Brown

* 35 and up: 1999, Drew Price and Mike Maxon

* 45 and up: 1988, Mike Mills and Todd Schiff

* Ladies Classic: 1993-95-96 combined team, Jennie Jackson

* Men's B: 2015, David MiIler.