The race for Ohio’s 12th Congressional District is settled — for the next three months, at least.

State Sen. Troy Balderson (R-Zanesville) has won the race for the central Ohio district vacated by Rep. Pat Tiberi in January, maintaining the Republicans’ longtime hold on the seat. Franklin County Recorder Danny O’Connor (D-Columbus) called Balderson to conceded Friday afternoon after determining he did not have enough votes to trigger an automatic recount.

“I’m humbled by the support I’ve received from voters and look forward to representing Ohio’s 12th Congressional district in Congress,” Balderson in a statement after O’Connor called. “Danny O’Connor ran a hard-fought race, but I look forward to earning the support of voters for a fourth time in November as I share my track record of getting things done for Ohioans, including balancing the budget, cutting taxes and creating an environment for job creation.”

The two men — along with Green Party candidate Joe Manchik — will face off again in three short months, at the Nov. 6 election.

Read The Columbus Dispatch's full story.