Eleven students from Upper Arlington High School and five from the Wellington School are National Merit Scholarship semifinalists.

The UAHS semifinalists are Oscar G. Coppola, Angela C. Li, Lancelot Y. Li, Nicholas G. Liakos, Kyle E. MacLaughlin, Andrew E. Mastruserio, Zain L. Padamsee, Sanam A. Parwani, Matthew L. Shepherd, Sifei Yang and Katie Y. Zhao.

Semifinalists from the Wellington School are Evan L. Albers, Nathaniel C. T. Hay, Andrew D. Ross, Adam T. Sorrels and Isabella M. Vegas.

More than 1.6 million high school students nationwideentered the 2019 National Merit Scholarship program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test as high school juniors.

To become finalists, students and their high schools must submit a detailed scholarship application, providing information about the students' academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment and honors and awards received.

Semifinalists must have outstanding academic records throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay and earn SAT scores that confirm their earlier performances on the qualifying test.

National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April and concluding in July.

Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered. Every finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2,500 scholarships that will be awarded on a state-representational basis.

About 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarships will be provided by about 230 corporations and business organizations for finalists who meet their specified criteria.

In addition, about 180 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 4,000 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards for finalists who will attend the sponsor institutions.