Hilliard City Council is expected to appoint a new member March 18 from among seven qualified candidates who submitted letters of interest and resumes.

The appointee will complete the term of former council President Albert Iosue, who resigned from City Council on Feb. 10 but still is seeking election to a new term beginning Jan. 1.

Iosue was in the final year of his third term.

Eight people filed letters of interest and resumes to replace him. One was ineligible because the applicant resides in Columbus, council clerk Lynne Fasone said.

The application deadline was Feb. 25.

Council members will interview the candidates during a committee-of-the-whole meeting before the regular meeting at 7 p.m. March 11 at the Hilliard Municipal Building, 3800 Municipal Way, council President Kelly McGivern said.

City Council moved the March 25 regular meeting to March 18 for the purpose of appointing the new member, Fasone said.

"I hope we choose someone who has been engaged in the community, has a history of working to make our city better and is dedicated to working collaboratively to do what's best for our residents," McGivern said.

The seven candidates are:

* Robert J. Apel

* Melinda Dennis

* Brian English

* Theodore Owens

* Tamim Parsa

* Greg St. Clair

* Omar Tarazi

Tarazi has been certified by the Franklin County Board of Elections to run in the May 7 Republican primary, but any other appointee can seek re-election only as an independent candidate, according to Aaron Sellers, a spokesman for the board of elections.

The independent filing deadline is May 6, the day before the primary, he said.

An appointee also could file as a write-in candidate on the November general-election ballot, Sellers said.

The filing deadline for write-in candidates for the general election is Aug. 26, according to the elections board's website.

Three other Republicans, council member Pete Marsh, Iosue and Bob Stepp also have been certified. The top three will advance to face three unopposed Democrats – Tina Cottone, Deryck Richardson and Cynthia Vermillion – who have been certified for the general election in November.

On Feb. 25, council members named Marsh vice president to replace McGivern, who became president after Iosue's resignation.

"I'm honored to be chosen among my colleagues for this leadership role," said Marsh, who was the only nomination and unanimous selection.

He had been appointed to council in January 2018 to replace Joe Erb. He is running for re-election because the term ends Dec. 31.

Marsh said Feb. 26 he had yet to review the resumes of the applicants but called them "a nice, strong group of candidates."

Still, he noted that only one, Tarazi, had indicated prior interest in City Council by virtue of having filed a petition to run in the Republican primary.

"It is an interesting situation because the major-party filing deadline has passed, so we will be selecting between either someone who has already filed to run and individuals who would only be holding the seat temporarily," Marsh said.

"I think the most important thing is to take the election aspect out of the equation and focus on selecting the person who offers the greatest strengths to the community for the remainder of the year as we consider very important issues."

He said the selection of a city manager is one of those issues.