The Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame is accepting nominations to recognize those who served in the U.S. Armed Forces and continue to contribute to their communities, the state and the nation through exceptional acts of volunteerism, advocacy, professional distinction, public service or philanthropy, according to a Feb. 20 news release from the Ohio Department of Veterans Services.

Each year, the Hall of Fame inducts up to 20 veterans based on recommendations from an executive committee of veterans from throughout the state and approval from the governor.

To be considered, the veteran must be a current or past Ohio resident, have received an honorable discharged and be of good moral character.

The nomination deadline is June 1.

Guidelines, a sample nomination and more information are available at

The induction will be at 10 a.m. Nov. 7 at Radiant Life Church, 7100 Post Road in Dublin.

The Hall of Fame can be viewed in the seventh-floor lobby of the Riffe Center, 77 S. High St. in Columbus, near the Ohio Department of Veterans Services.

Inductees in the 2018 class were Fredric L. Abrams, Ronald L. Albers, Cassie B. Barlow, Francis Leroy Clendenen, Dean Cooper, Haraz N. Ghanbari, James L. Gibson, Paul D. Haller, Ronald J. Hartman, Joseph A. Machado, Judge Robert P. Milich, Charles L. Murray (posthumous), Merle J. Pratt, Fredrick L. Pumroy, Clifford Riley, Dr. Dana L. Robinson-Street, Ronald A. Schwachenwald, Douglas D. Theaker, E.J. Thomas and Robert J. Wilhelm.

Download the nomination form, call Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame program administrator Sandra Puskarcik at 614-752-8941 or email