After interviewing five candidates Monday, March 11, Hilliard City Council members are expected to appoint a new member March 18.

Council members will choose from among the five candidates to continue the term of former council President Albert Iosue, who resigned Feb. 10. His term ends Dec. 31.

Those who interviewed March 11 were Robert Apel, Brian English, Theodore Owens, Greg St. Clair and Omar Tarazi.

Council members still must determine if the appointment would occur at a 7 p.m. special meeting or at a committee-of-the-whole meeting that would be scheduled before the special meeting, council President Kelly McGivern said.

Four votes will be required to appoint a member, according to Phil Hartmann, an attorney with Frost Brown Todd, the firm serving as the city’s legal counsel.

Councilman Les Carrier said he would be absent March 18, leaving five expected to be present.

According to Hartmann and the firm's interpretation of the city charter, four votes would be required to make an appointment rather than the three that still would represent a majority of the council members expected to be present March 18.

Because Iosue resigned after the filing deadline for the city’s partisan primary elections May 7, whoever is appointed to the seat could seek election to it only by running as an independent or write-in candidate, according to Aaron Sellers, a spokesman for the Franklin County Board of Elections.

Eight people had filed resumes and letters of interest for the appointment but one was disqualified because the applicant did not reside in Hilliard and Melinda Dennis and Tamim Parsa withdrew, said council clerk Lynne Fasone.

Tarazi also is among four Republicans certified to run in the May 7 primary for three council seats up for election on the November ballot.

The other Republicans are Iosue, council member Pete Marsh and Bobby Stepp.

Three Democrats are unopposed in their May 7 primary: Tina Cottone, Deryck Richardson II and Cynthia Vermillion.