Voters in Prairie Township on Tuesday, Nov. 5, will elect one trustee to the three-member board and the township fiscal officer.

Incumbent Douglas Stormont, 61, is being challenged by three other candidates for a four-year term commencing Jan. 1, 2020: Jennifer Flower, 34, Jim Goudy, 66, and Alec Milam, 24.

Flower is an insurance-claims adjuster and Community Health Action Team volunteer. She is a graduate of Bowling Green State University.

Goudy attended Westland High School and has a degree from Urbana College. He is employed in business marketing.

Milam attended Westland High School and has a finance degree from Ohio University. He works as a property manager.

Stormont has held the seat since 2004 and is serving as the board's 2019 chairman. He is a Westland High School graduate and small-business owner.

Two township residents are challenging incumbent fiscal officer Dan McCardle, whose four-year term ends March 31. Sherry Henning and Joseph P. Finn are seeking the office for the first time.

Henning, 53, has a bachelor's degree in accounting and a master's degree in public administration and has served on the township's community improvement corporation and its board of zoning appeals.

McCardle, 53, has held the office for more than 11 years. He has a bachelor's degree in accounting from Ohio State University and also serves as chief financial officer for Summit Home Care, a home-health agency.

Finn was unable to be reached.

The race for two seats on the South-Western Board of Education is uncontested. Incumbent Robert Ragland and Anthony Caldwell are on the ballot.

Voters also will consider a countywide levy: a 3.1-mill, 10-year renewal levy for Franklin County Children Services that has been designated as Issue 10 by the board of elections.

The 3.1-mill renewal levy is expected to generate more than $85.6 million annually, according to The Columbus Dispatch.

The levy will cost property owners about $84.50 per $100,000 in valuation, and it is collecting at an effective rate of 2.76 mills, according to the Franklin County Auditor's Office.

Early in-person and absentee voting began Oct. 8.

Look online at for candidates and issues coverage and go to for Election Night Live results and recaps Tuesday night, Nov. 5.