After failing to get voter approval in May for a combined levy and bond issue for the construction of several new district schools, the Groveport Madison Schools district was successful at the polls Nov. 5.

Voters have approved Issue 7, a 6.68-mill renewal levy that’s expected to generate $5.6 million in revenue annually.

According to final unofficial results from the Franklin County Board of Elections on Nov. 5, the levy was approved with 4,260 votes (67%) to 2,055 (33%) with all precincts reporting.

Walsh, incumbent Snyder win Groveport Madison board seats

With longtime board member Mary Tedrow stepping down at the end of her current term, the Groveport Madison school board race saw four candidates vying for two open seats.

Board president Chris Snyder was the race’s only incumbent. Challenging Snyder were Seth Bower, Wayne Bryan and Kathleen Walsh.

According to final unofficial results, Walsh led the field with 3,182 votes (36%); Snyder 2,382 (27%); Bower 1,970 (22%); and Bryan 1,393 (16%) with all precincts reporting.

Butler, Kruger uncontested in Canal Winchester school board race

After write-in candidate Robert Stedman officially withdrew on Sept. 13, the Canal Winchester Board of Education race featured two incumbents running unopposed for two open seats.

Kevin Butler is serving his first term and acting as the board president. Board Vice President Matt Kruger is in his second term.

Canal Winchester, Groveport mayors retain seats

Voters in Canal Winchester and Groveport have given their longtime mayors another term in office.

Groveport Mayor Lance Westcamp, who has served since 1994, earned another four-year term after his victory over John Pritchard, chairman of the Madison Township board of trustees.

According to unofficial results from the Franklin County Board of Elections on Nov. 5, Westcamp collected 791 votes (54%) to Pritchard’s 681 (46%), with all five precincts reporting.

Canal Winchester Mayor Mike Ebert, first elected in November 2007, defeated challengers Bruce Jarvis, the City Council president who will not return to his seat on council, and Doug Snyder.

Franklin County’s unofficial results show Ebert with 812 votes (43%), ahead of Jarvis’ 763 (40%) and Snyder’s 331 (17%), with all six precincts reporting.

In Fairfield County, Ebert was leading with 136 votes, ahead of Jarvis (105) and Snyder (41), according to unofficial results, with all three precincts reporting.

-- Scott Gerfen

Clark, Walker retain Canal Winchester council seats

Incumbents Bob Clark and Mike Walker won reelection, and Chuck Milliken will be a new face on Canal Winchester City Council in 2020.

They took the three open seats in the five-person race.

Walker led the field with 1,176 votes (24%) with Clark getting 1,060 (22%) and Milliken 1,015 (21%). Also running were Randy Stemen 865 (18%); and Scott Conner 708 (15%).

With all three precincts reporting in Fairfield County, Walker led the field with 169, followed by Clark (149), Milliken (127), Conner (125) and Stemen (123).

-- Scott Gerfen

Cleary, Hilbert win Groveport council seats

Shawn Cleary led a trio of candidates for two seats on Groveport City Council.

The president pro tem of council led the field with 980 votes (42%) as incumbent Jean Ann Hilbert 782 votes (34%) also was reelected. Challenger Jack Rupp Jr. earned 568 votes (24%).

-- Scott Gerfen

Madison Township: Reynolds ousts Kershner

The race for Madison Township trustee saw newcomer Michele Reynolds garner more votes than incumbent John Kershner.

With all 27 precincts reporting, Reynolds received 2,385 votes (48%) to Kershner's 2,328 (47%). Write-ins totaled 239 votes (5%).

Township fiscal officer Laurie Vermeer ran opposed.

-- Scott Hummel

Check for updates.