Voters have rejected a 5.5-mill, five-year fire levy in Jerome Township.

According to final unofficial results from the Union County Board of Elections on Nov. 5, the levy was rejected 1,012 votes (55.39%) to 815 votes (44.61%), with all precincts reporting.

A property owner would have paid annually an additional $192.50 per $100,000 of home valuation.

The levy would have generated about $1.9 million in tax revenue annually, said Robert Caldwell, the township’s fiscal officer.

The levy was proposed to raise funds to increase staffing at the current station and at a second station, said fire Chief Douglas Stewart.

Part of the establishment of Nationwide Realty Investors' Jerome Village development included an agreement to donate land within the residential development for a fire station and $5.5 million to build and equip it, Stewart said.

The second station was proposed to be built near the Dublin City Schools’ new Abraham Depp Elementary School, which is under construction at the northwest corner of Hyland-Croy Road and Ravenhill Parkway.

Jerome Township trustee

Megan Sloat appears to be the newest Jerome Township trustee. 

Sloat, Ken Gordon and Mark Spagnuolo ran for the seat held by trustee Ron Rhodes, who didn’t seek reelection.

According to final unofficial results from the Union County Board of Elections, Sloat led the field with 899 votes (47.67%); Gordon had 551 (29.22%); and Spagnuolo had 436 (23.12%), with all precincts reporting.

Dublin City Council

Christina Alutto and Chris Amorose Groomes, both incumbents, and Andrew Keeler were elected to Dublin City Council. Incumbent Michael Keenan did not seek reelection.

According to unofficial final results from the Franklin County Board of Elections Alutto received 4,591 votes (24%); Groomes had 4,590 (24%) and Keeler had 3,907 (20%). Sandi Allen had 3,152 votes (16%) and Ajay Satyapriya had 2,999 (16%).

Unopposed races

Several local officeholders ran unopposed.

They included Dublin school board members Scott Melody and Christopher Valentine; Jerome Township fiscal officer Robert Caldwell; and Washington Township fiscal officer Joyce Robinson.

Jan Rozanski also ran unopposed for Washington Township trustee; Gene Bostic did not seek reelection.