A crowded ballot for three Worthington City Council seats has yielded a close race that likely will demand a recount.

According to final unofficial results from the Franklin County Board of Elections on Nov. 5, Bonnie Michael led the field with 1,721 votes (12%); Peter Bucher received 1,601 votes (11.15%) and Doug Foust had 1,490 (10.37%), with all 15 precincts reporting.

But Doug Smith and Seth Kraut were right behind Foust with 1,489 and 1,485 votes (both 10.35%), respectively.

Recounts are mandatory in Ohio when the difference between a winning candidate and the candidate with the next highest number of votes is less than one-half of 1%, according to the Ohio Revised Code.

Michael, Foust and Smith currently hold the three council seats.

The 13-candidate field also included Candy Brooks, Paul Dorothy, Michael Farley, Karen Filina Wilson, Barton Hacker, Eddie Pauline, Jennifer Rhoads and Michael Troper.

Michael said she is honored to continue serving Worthington residents.

“As a member of Worthington City Council for 24 years, including six years as president, I love Worthington,” Michael said. “I demonstrate it in my commitment to meet face to face with Worthington residents. There is a unique and enduring bond that we in Worthington share to preserve the values and integrity, compassion and commitment to one another. I look forward to working with council members to have the opportunity to build on our unique history and success in the coming decade.”

Bucher said he was ready to step into a council role.

"Now is the time for our community to take the ideas and energy that (were) displayed during this campaign to seek a better Worthington,” Bucher said. “Thank you to everyone who volunteered, discussed the issues and voted to make our community better.”

In the three-candidate race for two Worthington school board seats, Amy Lloyd will join incumbent Charlie Wilson for a four-year term.

According to final unofficial results from the board of elections, Lloyd led the field with 7,898 votes (40.7%), Wilson had 7,116 (36.67%) and Kelly Needleman had 4,392 (22.63%), with all 54 precincts reporting Nov. 5.

Julie Keegan, who has served on the school board for 12 years and three terms, did not run for reelection.

In Perry Township, voters approved a 1.5-mill renewal levy for road and bridge repairs.

According to final unofficial results from the board of elections, 831 votes (85%) were cast for the levy and 148 (15%) were cast against it, with all 18 precincts reporting.

The levy will cost $40.09 a year per $100,000 in property value, according to Beth Beatty, township administrator. The 1.5-mill levy was set to expire Dec. 31, according to a release from the township, and the renewal will continue it another five years.

The release said the Franklin County Budget Commission has certified that the property-tax revenue from the levy would be $241,386 annually.

Check ThisWeekNEWS.com/Worthington for continuing coverage of the election results.