Those wanting to be considered to replace Joe Begeny on the Reynoldsburg Board of Education need to act soon.

As Begeny prepares to become Reynoldsburg’s next mayor on Jan. 1, 2020, his replacement on the school board is expected to be named next month.

Those interested in filling the vacant seat must submit a cover letter, resume and any other documentation supporting their candidacy to Tammira Miller, district treasurer, by 3 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 27.

Applications may be hand delivered, emailed to or sent to 7244 E. Main St., Reynoldsburg, OH, 43068.

To be eligible, candidates must be at least 18, a registered Ohio voter and reside within the Reynoldsburg school district. Board members will review applications and conduct interviews in executive session on Dec. 10 and/or Dec. 11, depending on the number of applications received.

The board plans to vote on appointing a new member at the Dec. 17 meeting.

Begeny, 43, was elected mayor Nov. 5. He succeeds Brad McCloud, who did not seek reelection.

The Nov. 19 board meeting was Begeny’s last, with his resignation effective Dec. 2. Under Ohio law, the board must name his replacement within 30 days of his resignation.

Begeny held the seat for six years and was named the board’s 2019 president. He said the “business of the board” – managing growth, expanding programs and dealing with uncertain state funding – will be waiting for its new member.

He thanked his fellow board members and district employees, including everyone from custodians to Superintendent Melvin Brown.

“If you want to know what’s going on in the buildings, that’s who you talk to,” Begeny said of the district’s custodians.

“This is not a once a month meeting,” Begeny said of his fellow board members. "This is our hearts, our souls; it’s your kids. We all want to work to make this district the best place it can be. We decided to put all of those other things aside to work for our kids and work for our community. It is about kids first.”

The next board of education meeting is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. Dec. 17 at City Hall, 7232 E. Main St.