Nearly half of the seven Hilliard Planning and Zoning Commission members are new, as Hilliard City Council on Feb. 10 opted not to reappoint two incumbents whose terms expired Dec. 31.

Council on Feb. 10 appointed Eric Gutknecht, Bevan Schneck and Tom Pannett to the commission, replacing former Mayor Don Schonhardt, former commission chairman Scott Movshin and Brett Bergefurd.

As part of charter amendments voters approved last year, the mayor no longer has a seat on the commission.

Instead, the commission has seven members, all appointed by council, with one representing each of the city's four wards and three at-large members.

Fourteen candidates applied but one withdrew, said council clerk Lynne Fasone.

After meeting in an executive session, council President Andy Teater announced the three candidates, who were approved unanimously, said David Ball, Hilliard's director of communications.

They will serve four-year terms.

Other candidates considered were Tim Bowers, Tina Cottone, Tyler Hamilton, Tamim Parsa, Angie Rader, Charles Smith, Jordan Smith and Bobby Stepp.