COSI attracted 4,000 visitors when it opened March 29, 1964, on the site of the former Franklin County Memorial Hall, 280 E. Broad St. in Columbus
In 1957, Sanford "Sandy" N. Hallock, COSI's first executive director, first had plans to build a museum on the same level as Chicago's Museum of Science and Industry.
Some of the original exhibits included the Foucault pendulum and the Durell Street of Yesteryear.
The popular coal-mine exhibit was added in 1972, and the iconic solar glass front debuted in 1973.
In 1999, COSI moved to 333 W. Broad St., the former site of Central High School.