Jamie Linnenbom continued her recent domination of the Franklin County Women's Golf Tournament, winning the event for the second consecutive year July 18 at Pinnacle.

Linnenbom defeated Alexis Yamokoski 4 and 3 in the championship flight of the match-play tournament for her fifth overall title and third since 2012.

"I thought it was possible (to win back-to-back titles)," said Linnenbom, who joined the Medallion Club last fall. "I've been playing a lot more golf this year and I've been playing pretty well, but it's always a pretty strong field here, so you have to play it shot by shot and see what happens."

Linnenbom didn't have any birdies in the final round and finished 4-over par on the day, but it was enough to hold off Yamokoski.

Playing on her home course, Yamokoski was competing in her first Franklin County Women's Golf Tournament in about 10 years and finished the final round 10-over.

The final flights were postponed July 13 because of bad weather.

Last year, Linnenbom defeated Riley Dean on the first playoff hole after they were even through regulation.

Linnenbom, 37, also won the title in 1999 and 2002 and has finished second four times. She credited her husband, Drew, who again served as her caddy, for contributing to her latest win.

"I played in my first county (tournament) when I was 15 years old, so this tournament has kind of a special place in my heart," she said. "I always try to play in it each year. It's one of my favorite tournaments to play in."

After a bye in the quarterfinals, Linnenbom defeated Nancy Battista-Allen (Scioto Reserve) 7 and 6 in a semifinal.

Yamokoski defeated Lana Oriana (Pinnacle) 4 and 2 in a quarterfinal and Deb McNichols (Scioto Reserve) 2 and 1 in a semifinal.

"It's our home course, so you can't miss out on that," Yamokoski said. "My husband (Jason Heldt) was great on my bag. It was a lot of fun. We had great representation of the (Pinnacle) members all week. ... I would not have guessed I'd be playing in the final. I had a great time. Jamie was lovely to play with. (She's) a great competitor."

The four-day event featured 49 golfers, with champions determined in six flights.

The number of participants was down from 73 a year ago. McNichols, who is event co-chair, said a conflict with a junior golf event played a role in the decline.

"The golf course was excellent," McNichols said. "A lot of people just had other things going on."

The tournament started in 1923 and has been held every year since, except for 1942-44.

Other flight winners were Jane Ahearn (first, New Albany Links), Renee Dutton (second, Brookside), Janie Sheraw (third, Jefferson), Anne Costello (fourth, Tartan Fields), Deb Fleming (fifth, Pinnacle) and Diane Thompson (sixth, Raymond Memorial).

Patty King (York) had a hole-in-one on the par-3 seventh hole during play July 12.