Grant Horvath rushed for three touchdowns, and the Watterson High School football team held on fourth down late in the game to hold off visiting DeSales and end the Stallions’ five-game winning streak in the rivalry.

Watterson’s 21-14 victory on Oct. 26 on a sloppy Hagely Field also ended DeSales’ Division III, Region 11 playoff hopes.

Horvath’s 1-yard touchdown run gave the Eagles the lead for good with 8 minutes, 57 seconds left.

DeSales’ final drive ended at the Watterson 35-yard line with 1:31 left when quarterback Joey Velazquez’s pass fell incomplete on fourth-and-8.

“This is the greatest rivalry in Ohio,” said Watterson coach Brian Kennedy, whose team finished 5-5 overall and 2-1 in the CCL. “I’ve played in it, I’ve coached in it. This is what it’s all about in Week 10.”

Watterson led 14-7 at halftime, but DeSales evened the score quickly after the Eagles failed to recover the second-half kickoff, giving the Stallions the ball at the Watterson 17.

Velazquez’s 2-yard touchdown run tied the game at 14.

Turnovers and penalties disrupted the Stallions’ offense in the first half.

Quintell Quinn lost the ball, helping set up Watterson’s first scoring drive starting at the DeSales 27. Grant Horvath scored on a 4-yard run to put the Eagles ahead 7-0.

“The turnovers and penalties hurt us,” said DeSales coach Ryan Wiggins, whose team finished 5-5 overall and 1-2 in the league. “They made more plays overall than we did, and it was a tough back-and-forth game.”

Velazquez’s 37-yard run tied the score at 7 in the first quarter. He finished with 143 yards rushing on 27 carries.

Watterson’s final drive of the first half was its longest. Beginning at their own 34, the Eagles went 66 yards in eight plays, capping the drive with a 4-yard touchdown run by Horvath.

Tommy Blair had 82 yards rushing on 22 carries for the Eagles.



Team 1 2 3 4 Final DESALES 7 0 7 0 14 WATTERSON
7 7 0 7 21

W—Horvath 4 run (Fortkamp kick)

D—Velazquez 37 run (Tawiah kick)

W—Horvath 4 run (Fortkamp kick)

D—Velazquez 2 run (Tawiah kick)

W—Horvath 1 run (Fortkamp kick)