OPINION

Moment in Time

ThisWeek group
With a speech by Gov. Andrew L. Harris and other dignitaries, the Columbus Library was dedicated April 4, 1907. The building at 96 S. Grant Ave. largely was funded by Andrew Carnegie, making it a Carnegie library. It had departments dedicated to children, reference and magazines and newspapers as well as a room containing 50 display cases with a collection of about 500 stuffed birds. The building stayed open until 10 p.m. that day to allow visitors to explore the new building. After expansions in 1953 and 1961, an addition was built in 1991, eliminating the two previous additions and tripling the size of the Main Library. Another renovation was completed in 2016.